Civilized Travel “Must-Haves”


As I prepare my packing list for a 12-day Turkish odyssey later this month, I thought I’d share some of my favorite must-haves.  I’ll be on a sailboat for a week, so can take a small suitcase.  When it comes to suitcases, my favorite is Victorinox / Swiss Army brand. 

Colorful and sturdy, my trusty 24-inch Swiss Army suitcase goes around the world with me with the greatest of ease.

Colorful and sturdy, my trusty 24-inch Swiss Army suitcase goes around the world with me with the greatest of ease.

This baby is lightweight and built to last – sturdy wheels, handles, zippers.  I love this thing.  I keep a big black ID tag on it, because apparently I am not the only person who loves these suitcases – there are lots of them on the conveyor belt.  (That’s the only drawback.)

Another thing I love, love, love is little zippy bags, like this one:

Handy, nylon zippy bags from Le Sportsac are a travel necessity in my book.

Handy, nylon zippy bags from Le Sportsac are a travel necessity in my book.

I use these to keep things organized – lipgloss, jewelry, makeup,  iPod, camera, hair clips, money, gum.  Sometimes one is all you need for a night out, fitting in some cash or a credit card and ID, lip gloss, clever collapsible hairbrush like this:

I LOVE this clever little number - tiny, functional and you get a mirror to boot!

I LOVE this clever little number - tiny, functional and you get a mirror to boot!

You can get these at Sephora or drug stories – but they’re a life saver, especially when you’re on-the-go.  And they’re less than $10, to boot!

And I always remember to pack a collapsible duffle for shopping. 

A big duffle that folds up into a tiny packet!

I cannot tell you how these have saved my life!  You just don’t have to worry about whether or not the entire set of nesting bowls from the cermics shop in Guadalajara will fit into your suitcase!  You are prepared with a roomy extra bag!

So, hope these are helpful shares.  I leave tonight and will be back blogging about te Turkish Blue Cruise  upon my return.

Leave a Reply

